A blog from the Juneau Golf Club of Juneau, Alaska

Friday, November 18, 2016

2016 Fall Memorial Tournament

Hi Juneau Golfers,

Another successful tournament took place in September, 2016 with 67 golfers enjoying the warm Oregon fall weather. 

A big thank you to Steve and Kris Burnett for chairing this tournament, along with their committee of Rusty Shaub and Laura Beason. It takes a lot of work and is sincerely appreciated!  Another big thank you goes to Dick and Candy Behrends who rode around the courses photographing our antics while we golfed.  At the end of this blog is a link to those photos ... I hope you enjoy them!

Also we would like to thank our sponsors:

Bullwinkle’s Pizza Parlor                          Mitch Falk                               907 586-8988
Alaska Commercial Contractors             Doug Courtney                      907 500-9993
PND Engineers                                           Chris Gianotti                        907 586-2093
     Taku Glacier Lodge                      `            Ken and Michelle Ward       907 586-6275
     Doug and Charlotte Scudder                   Doug Scudder                        907 463-1950
     Behrends Mechanical                               Dick Behrends                       907 780-6766
     Alaska Seaplanes                                       Carl Ramseth                         907 789-7880
     Jerry’s Meats & Seafood’s                         Scott Perkins                         907 789-5142
     Jack’s Plumbing & Heating                        John Schoenmann                907 780-4170
     Baxter, Bruce & Sullivan                            Dan Bruce                               907 789-3166
     North Pacific Erectors, Inc.                       Jim Williams                           907 364-3288
     Chatham Electric, Inc.                               Ralph Kibby                             907 789 9899
     Elgee Rehfeld and Mertz                          George Elgee                          907 789-3178
     Murray and Associates                             Doug Murray                          800 457-0220

     Alaska Marine Lines                                  Neal Murphy                           907 586-3790
     Parker, Smith & Feek                                 Scott McGilvray                      800 457-0220
     Alaska Electric Light & Power                   Tim McCloud                          907 780-2222
     Wings Airways                                            Bob Jacobsen                         907 586-5275
     M/V Sea Mount                                          Dan Rear                                 907 752-0505
     Alaska Marine Lines                                   Neal Murphy                          907 586-3790
     Crowley Petroleum Distribution              Nelson Bjork                           907 586-1276
     Alaska Insulation Supply                           Terry Philley                            907 563-4125

Other Contributors:  Alaskan Brewing Company & Cycle Alaska
Winners of this tournament were:
Men's low Gross, Jeff Hansen; Senior's Low Gross, Tony Chadwick; Women's Low Gross, Diane Mayer
Men's A Flight - 1st place, Bob Peel; 2nd place, Steve Houlihan; 3rd place tie, Jeff Bush and Lucas Turi
Men's B Flight - 1st place, Steve Burnett; 2nd place, Ken Ward; 3rd place, Pete Christensen
Men's C Flight - 1st place, Carl Christensen; 2nd place, Garry Young; 3rd place, Brian Parker
Senior's A Flight - 1st place, Dick Williams; 2nd place, Ken Wiedrich; 3rd place tie, George Mangini, Bob Storer
Senior's B Flight - 1st place, Tim Whiting; 2nd place, Sandy Sturrock; 3rd place, Bob Hungerford
Women's A Flight - 1st place, Pam Christensen; 2nd place, Donna Schultz; 3rd place, Shana Ferguson
Women's B Flight - 1st place, Alison Elgee; 2nd place, Jan Burgman; 3rd place, Nancy Courtney
Congratulations to the winners ... check out the golf club's website for more details of other contests in the tournament.

Photos of this tournament can be viewed at:

Thanks again to all who attended, to those who did the hard work to put it together, our photographers, and to our sponsors! 
Barb Whiting
JGC Webmaster


No comments:

The setting ... Francisco Grande Resort & Golf Course

Created with Admarket's flickrSLiDR.

2008 Alaskan Open - The Players

2008 Alaskan Open - The Players
Francisco Grande Resort, Casa Grande, AZ

Tournament Co-Chairs

Tournament Co-Chairs
Steve Schlaffman

Cindy Schlaffman

On the Francisco Grande Golf Course

Created with Admarket's flickrSLiDR.

Sue Ogden's Golf Photos

Created with Admarket's flickrSLiDR.

Relaxing after a hard day golfing

Created with Admarket's flickrSLiDR.

2008 Alaskan Open - Dinners and Banquet

Created with Admarket's flickrSLiDR.

2008 Alaskan Open Top Winners

Created with Admarket's flickrSLiDR.